december, 2021

12dec5:00 pmDramatic Skies: CirrusAuckland Town Hall, Concert Chamber

Event Details

We’re thrilled to present this year’s Auckland subscription series Dramatic Skies:

As the name suggests, the series leads us through intense emotional contrasts, from sweetness and light to drama and darkness. The bookends – two Rachmaninoff piano trios, both named élégiaque – indicate the powerful emotional journey within the series.

Each concert presents works from overseas and, like the clouds in the title, some are bright and billowy like familiar shapes passing by while others are dark, brooding and portentous. These globe-drifters gather around the lofty peaks of Aotearoa’s musical landscape. There are two Kiwi works at the heart of each concert, a brand new commission and an older favourite.


Dramatic Skies 3: Cirrus – Sunday, December 12th, 5pm

Auckland Town Hall, Concert Chamber

Tickets $50 Adult / $25 Student

10% discount for SOUNZ members


Schubert: Sonatensatz, D. 28

Clement: shifting states

Panufnik: Piano Trio Op. 1

Whitehead: tba (new commission)

Rachmaninoff: Trio élégiaque No. 2 in D minor, Op. 9


Cirrus sweeps us into the heights of Schubert’s musical charm, shifting us into Rachel Clement’s glassmaking inspired sound world. Through passionate mood changes and luscious melodies reminiscent of the late French Romantics, Panufnik’s piano trio takes us into the depths of the nebulous glow of the clouds of Aotearoa in our new commission by Gillian Whitehead. Rachmaninoff’s masterpiece reflects on the huge journey of the whole series and brings the year to a dramatic close with a sense of pathos and heightened emotion.


Duration 1.5 hours, plus interval followed by complimentary refreshments in the lounge.

Wheelchair accessible


(Sunday) 5:00 pm


Auckland Town Hall Concert Chamber

Programme Notes

Programme notes pending