“there is no doubt that all three of NZTrio musicians are some of Aotearoa’s most fearsome classical music talents.”

Clare Martin, Classical Chromatics

Felix Mendelssohn | Trio in C minor Op. 66
Reuben Jelleyman / J.S. Bach | Büchlein Reimaginings (selections)
Jennifer Higdon | Piano Trio
Arno Babadjanian | Trio in F-Sharp minor

We begin with Mendelssohn’s emotionally charged and passionate ‘Trio in C minor Op. 66’, considered one of his finest chamber music works. Then NZ composer Reuben Jelleyman, known for his inventive melodies and harmonies, takes inspiration from Bach’s chorales in ‘Büchlein Reimaginings’. Our journey continues with Jennifer Higdon’s ‘Piano Trio’, evoking colours being spread on a canvas through the melodies, harmonies and instruments themselves.  Next, we venture into the rich and passionate realm of Armenia with Arno Babadjanian’s ‘Trio in F-Sharp minor’, a compelling masterpiece that resonates with the soulful melodies and profound emotions of Armenian culture.

St Andrew’s by the Sea
Sunday 15 Sep, 4PM 

Concert Chamber
Auckland Town Hall
Wednesday 18 Sep, 7pm

Greytown Music Society
Sunday 22 Sep, 4PM 

Elder Hall
Friday 4 Oct, 1PM

Tempo Rubato
Saturday 5 Oct, 8PM 

Fanny Mendelssohn | Trio in D minor
Joan Tower | Trio Cavany
Eva Bedggood | New Work (commissioned by Christopher’s Classics) 
Ethel Smyth | Trio in D minor

Visit our events page to see when we’ll be near you.

NZTrio is recognised as a ‘national treasure’ and ‘New Zealand’s most indispensable ensemble’ (NZ Herald).

Subscribe to our mailing list for up-to-date and important concert information direct to your inbox. Or keep in touch via Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, or our What’s On page for the latest.


Next Event

Current Month

© Copyright 2024 NZTrio