Triptych 1 - Unquiet Dream

22may7:00 pm9:00 pmTriptych 1 - Unquiet DreamWellington

Event Details

Journey through a diverse musical landscape beginning with Benjamin Britten’s ‘Introduction and Allegro for Piano Trio’, a masterpiece that showcases his distinctive harmonic language and rhythmic vitality. Next, immerse yourself in the enigmatic world of Lera Auerbach’s ‘Trio No. 2 Triptych – This Mirror Has Three Faces’, a thought-provoking exploration of reflection, identity, and transformation, structured as a triptych with three distinct movements, each inviting introspection. Adding a touch of Aotearoa is a new work by a talented New Zealand composer Chris Cree Brown. Finally, we conclude with the rich and expressive ‘Trio in D minor Op. 49’ by Felix Mendelssohn, which beautifully balances classical structure with Romantic lyricism.

Book early to get the early bird discount!


Benjamin Britten | Introduction and Allegro for piano trio
Lera Auerbach  | Trio No. 2 Triptych – This Mirror Has Three Faces
Chris Cree Brown | New Work
Felix Mendelssohn | Trio in D minor Op. 49

*Note: Triptych 1 will be performed with guest pianist Sarah Watkins.


(Wednesday) 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Public Trust Hall

131-135 Lambton Quay Wellington, 6011 New Zealand