may, 2022

19may7:00 pmLegacy 1Auckland Pah Homestead

Event Details

Join us for Legacy 1 at the Wallace Arts Centre, Pah Homestead.



Shortened version of one hour, no interval with selections from:

Schumann – Sech Stückein kanonischer Form, Op. 56, arr. for piano trio, selections
New Commission (NZ)
Kapustin – Trio, Op. 86
Beethoven – Piano Trio in B-flat major, Op. 97 “Archduke”

The story begins with the first two of Schumann’s “Six Pieces in Canon” where he pays homage to the lasting resonance of Bach’s prodigious talents in polyphonic writing. Then we look simultaneously to the past and the future, marking NZTrio’s proud legacy of over 75 commissions by performing the latest creation from Michael Norris, who wrote NZTrio’s first ever commission back in 2003. Genre-busting repertoire is highlighted in Kapustin’s trio, a representation of the Soviet jazz scene – spicy and crisp. There’s a moment to catch your breath before the heavyweight champion appears. Beethoven’s Op.97 Bb Major trio is dedicated to his patron and friend Archduke Rudolph of Austria who would surely be delighted to know his name lives on attached to this majestic and profoundly affecting work.


Tickets $40 Adult / $20 Student


Complimentary refreshments following the performance if restriction levels permit.

Wheelchair accessible, companion tickets available.



(Thursday) 7:00 pm


The Wallace Arts Centre, Pah Homestead