HOMELAND 2: Tunes from my Home

24sep5:00 pm7:00 pmHOMELAND 2: Tunes from my HomeAuckland Town Hall, Concert Chamber

Event Details

Homeland 2 begins with Chen Yi transporting us half a world away to her upbringing in China, with musical stories filled with bustling energies and happy memories.  Then we hear Enescu’s luscious A minor trio, one of the very few works he composed during WWII and a strong witness to his fascination with the Romanian countryside and folk music of his homeland. Victoria Kelly’s gently rhythmic and mystical sound world brings us back home to Aotearoa with her new commission “Lyre”, before our final stop in Prague, where a 42-year old Dvořák takes us into the depths of Czech folk music traditions and into the dark and brooding romanticism of his F minor piano trio.

The Programme

Chen Yi – Tunes from My Home
George Enescu – Piano Trio A minor
Victoria Kelly – Lyre (New NZTrio commission)
Antonín Dvořák – Piano Trio No. 3 in F minor, Op. 65

Tickets available through Ticketmaster



(Sunday) 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm


Auckland Town Hall Concert Chamber