The story continues...

Join us for LEGACY 2 in person at one of our Auckland venues, or our free live stream on the 20th of July from the Concert Chamber of the Auckland Town Hall.

The story continues with the luscious trio arrangement of Schumann’s melodious miniatures dedicated to his music teacher Friedrich Wieck before we return home to the sounds of Aotearoa in Tabea Squire’s newest work. Bolcom’s trio celebrates the music of our time in a whirlwind journey, turbulent with autumnal and Hispanic-jazzy tones contrasted with other-worldly serenity. Finally, we experience Schubert at the height of his artistry in his marvellous E-flat trio, acclaimed by Schumann as ‘an angry meteor blazing forth and outshining everything in the musical atmosphere of the time’. Brace yourselves for this epic musical panorama – the whole gamut of human emotion is conveyed in just four movements.

The Programme

Schumann – Sechs Stücke in kanonischer Form, Op. 56 arr. for Piano Trio,  III & IV
Squire – “Der Tanz” (new commission)
William Bolcom – Trio
Schubert – Piano Trio No. 2 in E flat, Op. 100

Warkworth Town Hall
3 July 4 pm

Concert Chamber
Auckland Town Hall
20 July 7 pm

Nathan Homestead
23 July 5 pm

Our performance at the Concert Chamber, Auckland Town Hall will be live streamed. Sign up to our emails to receive information this and other upcoming events.