Old and new worlds collide in the concert featuring three of  “Aotearoa’s most fearsome classical music talents.” (Clare Martin, Classical Chromatics). NZTrio – Amalia Hall (violin), Ashley Brown (cello), and Somi Kim (piano) – will be serving up new music for piano trio, along with fresh takes on well-known masterpieces for a concert experience that blends low-key warmth with musical excellence. 

Dates and Venues

Friday 23 June 4pm
UKARIA Cultural Centre

Sunday 25 June 4pm
Tempo Rubato

The Programme

Kenji Bunch | Groovebox Variations
Rachel Clement | Shifting States
Alfred Schnittke | Piano Trio
Stuart Greenbaum | The year without a summer
Johannes Brahms | Piano Trio No. 3 in C minor Op. 101

The concert opens with American composer Kenji Bunch’s rhythmic Groovebox, capturing the essence of New York City between dusk & dawn, before exploring the process of changing physical states essential to the production of mid-century art glass with New Zealander Rachel Clement’s Shifting States. The first half ends with Schnittke’s Trio, leading us to a furious moment of catharsis and then sublimating into thin air. The second half begins with Australian composer Stuart Greenbaum’s The year without a summer, evoking the 1815 volcanic eruption of Mt Tambora in Indonesia and contemplating the resulting upheaval for the community there, before Brahms treats us to moments of darkness and restless unease, bringing his Piano Trio No.3 in C minor to a close with an energetic and impassioned finale.

Hear NZTrio playing "Shifting States" by Rachel Clement

Sign up for e-news

Latest from Insta


3 days ago
1 week ago
1 week ago
2 weeks ago
2 weeks ago
2 weeks ago